

EUROPEAN COURT OF HUMAN RIGHTS COUR EUROPÉENNE DES DROITS DE L'HOMME

Síofra O'LEARY President of the European Court of Human Rights

Born on 20 September 1968, in Dublin, Ireland

- Bachelor of Civil Law, University College Dublin, 1986-1989
- PhD on European law, European University Institute, Florence, Italy, 1989-1993
- Lectures addressing practitioners, government agencies and academics on fundamental rights, EU law and European Court of Justice practice and procedure, 1992-2014
- Visiting Fellow and Research Associate, Department of Public International Law, University of Cádiz, Spain, and Institute for Public Policy Research, London, United Kingdom, 1994-1996
- Research Associate, Institute for Public Policy Research, London, 1994-1996
- Assistant Director of the Centre for European Legal Studies, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, 1995-1996
- Fellow of Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, 1995-1996
- Référendaire, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Luxembourg, 1996-1999
- Visiting Fellow, Faculty of Law, University College Dublin, Ireland, 1999-2004
- Référendaire and Chef de cabinet, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Luxembourg, 2000-2004
- Visiting Professor, Department of Law, College of Europe, Bruges, Belgium, since 2003
- Administrator, Research and Documentation Directorate, Court of Justice of the European Communities, Luxembourg, 2004-2005
- Référendaire and Chef de cabinet, Court of Justice of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2005-2012
- Member of the Editorial and Advisory Boards of the Common Market Law Review, since 2012 and 2015
- Member of the Advisory Boards of the Common Market Law Review and the Irish Centre for European Law
- Honorary Bencher of the Honorable Society of the King's Inns, Ireland
- Head of Unit, Research and Documentation Directorate, Court of Justice of the European Union, Luxembourg, 2012-2015
- Judge of the European Court of Human Rights since 2 July 2015
- President of Section from 1 January 2020 to 31 October 2022
- Vice-President of the Court from 2 January 2022 to 31 October 2022
- President of the Court since 1 November 2022.

